Connect with us


Felinfoel suffer defeat




FELINFOEL suffered defeat on Saturday (Jun 29) as they were beaten by six wickets by second placed Maesteg.

Maesteg won the toss and elected to field and that looked that to be a good decision as they were able to bowl Felinfoel out for 128.

Openers Stuart Parmenter and Andrew Thomas had made a good start for the home side as they shared an opening stand of 56 runs.

Parmenter hit five fours in a score of 32 but he was then stumped off the bowling of Martin Wilkshire.

Thomas hit four fours in a score of 31 but he was then caught by Luke Whelan off the bowling of Ewan Lambert.

Lambert then bowled Julian Griffiths and Rhys Jones in quick succession before Tom Jones was caught off the bowling of Chris Hicks.

That left Felinfoel on 85-5 and it soon became 94-6 as Jonathan Cheal was trapped leg before by Jeffrey Watkin.

Rohan Nangalia made a score of 18 but he was also out to the bowling of Watkin as wickets continued to fall.

Photo by Darren Harries

Josh Powell was next to fall when he was also caught off the bowling of Watkin and Wilkshire then bowled Johnathan Evans.

Anthony Mathias finished not out on 11 after Lambert claimed his fourth wicket when he had Stephen Jones caught.

That meant that Maesteg would need 129 to win but Felinfoel did their best to try and defend their total.

Anthony Mathias bowled Jonathan Hood for a duck and Stuart Parmenter then had Andrew Whelan caught by Andrew Thomas on a score of 26.

That made the score 43-2 but Ashley Colston and Michael Lambert shared 48 runs for the third wicket.

Lambert made 22 but he was then caught by Jonathan Evans off the bowling of Rohan Nangalia.

Colston hit seven fours in a score of 44 but he was caught by Jonathan Cheal off the bowling of Tom Jones. That made the score 95-4 but Felinfoel were unable to take any further wickets.

Kurt Vincent and Martin Wilkshire finished unbeaten on scores of 18 and 14 respectively as they guided Maesteg home with plenty of time to spare.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Dafen see off Porthcawl




DAFEN Seconds earned their sixth win of the season on Saturday (Jul 6) as they beat Porthcawl by 75 runs.

Porthcawl won the toss and elected to field and they were able to bowl Dafen out for 182.

Opener Oliver Evans made a score of 19 and Chris Randell scored 25 as a number of Dafen batsmen made good starts.

Jonathan Griffiths scored 22 and there were also scores of 15 from Tom Lavender and 16 from Luke Dunning.

Matthew Thomas made a late score of 18 while Andrew Randell top scored with 43 runs.

Nicholas Morgan was the pick of the bowlers with three wickets for the loss of 30 runs from his 6.3 overs.

Mark Bevan also bowled well to finish with figures of 3-37.

Photos by Darren Harries

That set Porthcawl 138 to win but they lost a number of batsmen for single figure scores as they struggled to put runs on the board.

Andrew Randell had Nicholas Morgan caught by Jac Morgan and Matthew Thomas had Rhodri Phillips caught by Chris Randell.

Chris Richards made a score of 13 before he was bowled by Rhys Marchant who then also bowled Rob Warren and had David Lewis caught by Chris Randell, both for ducks.

Tim Richards also fell for a duck when he was caught off the bowling of Matthew Thomas.

Mark Lewis had scored 25 but he also fell to the bowling of Marchant.

Steffan Flood also scored 25 before he was bowled by Chris Randell and Joshua Aubrey added 20 late on before he also fell to the bowling of Randell.

That meant that Porthcawl were all out for 107, giving Dafen seconds an excellent win.

On Saturday (Jul 13), Dafen seconds are away to local rivals Llanelli seconds.

Continue Reading


Rees century sees Llanelli to win




LLANELLI’s Iwan Rees scored a century on Saturday (Jul 6) to help his side to victory over Briton Ferry Steel.

Briton Ferry won the toss and elected to bat but they were restricted to 186-8 in their innings.

Steven Devonald struck early on to remove Evan Hynes but Lloyd Clement and Jamie Griffiths shared 44 runs for the second wicket.

Jac Rees had Griffiths caught by Craig Howells on a score of 24 and soon after Craig Evans was bowled by Aled Gilley for a duck.

Clement had made a score of 41 but when he was bowled by Rees, the Steel found themselves on 81-4.

That soon became 88-5 as Steve Maddock was caught by Marcus Leaf off the bowling of Gilley.

Photo by Darren Harries

Iwan Rees then had Steffan Evans caught by Howells and Rhys Norgrove fell in similar fashion.

Jason Hughes and Thomas Williams shared 56 runs for the eighth wicket as they looked to give their side a total to defend.

On the last ball Williams was caught by Rees off the bowling of Gilley on a score of 24 which left Hughes not out on 67.

Llanelli openers Iwan Rees and Ioan Phillips shared 42 runs for the first wicket before Phillips was caught by Rhys Norgrove off the bowling of Jay Webb.

That was as good as it got for the Steel though as they were unable to claim any further wickets.

Craig Howells hit seven fours as he finished unbeaten on 53 while Rees starred with 14 fours to finish unbeaten on 104.

The win gives Llanelli 19 points and keeps them third in the table. On Saturday (Jul 13), they travel to local rivals Dafen.

Continue Reading


Daly makes special visit to Ashburnham




TWO time Major Champion John Daly aka the “Wild Thing” paid a visit to Ashburnham Golf Club last weekend as part of the club’s 125th anniversary celebrations.

Daly fresh from a top 5 finish on the USPGA Senior tour entertained the crowds with some extraordinary shot making during an exhibition match involving members and local businesses.

Following golf JD took part in a Q&A and rounded off the night in style by joining in with local band “The Lost Comets”.

Photo by Darren Harries

Ian Thomas, Club Captain was thrilled with the day and said that the occasion was truly memorable and a fantastic way to celebrate the club’s 125th anniversary.

John Daly himself was full of praise for Ashburnham: “I loved the course, the people and the back 9 layout in particular was just awesome.”

Television highlights of the day were aired on S4C’s Heno programme Monday, July 1.

John Daly won the PGA Championship in 1991 and the Open Championship in 1995.

The 53-year-old also has 18 professional wins to his name.

Continue Reading